New Names in the IDA Hall of Fame: Ceyda Aydede and Necla Zarakol

Communication Consultancies Association of Turkey (IDA), working with the aim of improving public relations profession’s reputation and enhancing the industry, effectuated the second “IDA Hall of Fame” following the ceremony in April 3, 2018 Tuesday evening.  IDA Hall of Fame is inspired by International Communications Consultancy Association – ICCO Hall Of Fame, where this year Ceyda Aydede and Necla Zarakol’s names will be added to this privileged list.

Several senior executives from the business community, representatives of leading non-governmental organizations in the communications sector, and academicians have participated in IDA Hall of Fame ceremony, as well as IDA Board of Directors, the Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of the member companies.

IDA President Ergun Gümrah said: “Our purpose with IDA Hall of Fame is to pay tribute to the people who play a key role in the development of the sector at both global and local levels, attracting attention with their successful and pioneering studies in communication consultancy and public relations. The tributes paid to those who work in this profession, also means that our profession is honoured. I would like the IDA Hall of Fame to inspire the sector professionals, the people who work for this profession and the young people who will choose this career path”

A pioneer in the implementation of international standards in Turkey

After establishing Global Tanıtım ve Halkla İlişkiler company, Ceyda Aydede handed over the majority shares of the company in 2008 and served as the Chairman of Global Hill and Knowlton until 2013. Ceyda Aydede, as a founding member of IDA, made great efforts to win the ICCO’s accreditation in the first Board of Directors. Aydede has developed the first audit set of Consultancy Management Standard, which conducts the international standards of the profession (CMS), in Turkey. During her term, she led the organization of the first IDA Conference with the participation of ICCO President John Saunders and ICCO Secretary General Simon Quarendon.

In 2002, Aydede was awarded the Atlas Award for Lifetime Achievement in International Public Relations, which is awarded by the Public Relations Association of America (PRSA) to public relations professionals who have succeeded on international platforms. In 2003, Ceyda Aydede became of the International Public Relations Association (IPRA) President. She is also a member of Public Relations Association of Turkey (TÜHİD) and Public Relations Association of America (PRSA) in addition to being a founding member of Association of Women Entrepreneurs of Turkey (KAGİDER).

Successfully carried journalism experience to communication consultancy

Necla Zarakol, who founded Zarakol Communications after a long career in journalism, is also a founding member and was the second term president of IDA. Zarakol is known as a respected and influential name among colleagues in the media and business world, contributing significantly to the improvement of the communication consulting companies’ standards and the development of the industry. Necla Zarakol’s experience in crisis management has been a leading example for many professionals, actively in the public relations sector today. Necla Zarakol delivered well-known projects in Turkey that has reached a large portion of the population, which have benefited the society and made a difference, such as Snowdrops and Blue Bike. Necla Zarakol is a three term Board Member of Turkish Economic and Social Studies Foundation (TESEV) and the Private Sector Volunteers in Society (ÖSGD) and a Board Member for one term in Public Relations Society of Turkey (TUHID). Zarakol is now the Vice Chairman of TESEV and Board Member in the International Transparency Association.

Hall of Fame was launched at the ICCO Global Summit Berlin in 2003. Honourable individuals who contribute to the development of PR discipline and enhancement of its reputation in Turkey through their achievements while inspiring PR professionals and playing important role in development of the sector in international and local level are inducted into IDA Hall of Fame. The inductees are determined after the evaluation by the IDA Board of Directors based on the Hall of Fame criteria. The tradition started with the “Honorary Prize” awarded to Betül Mardin and Alaeddin Asna in the 10th Anniversary Ceremony of IDA; and continue with the first İDA Hall of Fame ceremony last year where Meral Saçkan and Salim Kadıbeşegil were honoured.